G Suite Automation

Leveraging Blissfully's G Suite automation.

Benefits of Blissfully's G Suite Automation

Blissfully's G Suite automations can streamline your processes by making best practice easy & automatic during employee onboarding and offboarding. For offboarding this includes locking an account down, forwarding future emails, backing up emails and documents, and ultimately deleting it to free up the G Suite license.

Blissfully's G Suite automation is available to all Blissfully customers, however it requires that your organization is using G Suite Business or Enterprise. If you’d like to understand the benefits of G Suite Business, or are already inclined to upgrade, we can help.

Onboarding automations

Blissfully has several automations that can be used during employee onboarding including account creation and Google Group assignment.

Account creation

When launching an onboarding workflow from Blissfully, you have the option to create the new employee's G Suite account from Blissfully. You'll need to enter the employees's First Name, Last Name, business email address and their personal email address to receive the account password. You also have the option specify the G Suite Organizational Unit that the new account should be assigned to.

Blissfully's G Suite account creation executes as soon as the onboarding workflow is launched.

Google Group assignment

Blissfully can automatically assign an employee to Google Groups based on their team membership. Learn more about setting up Google Group tasks.

Offboarding automations

Blissfully's automations during offboarding can ensure that offboarded employees can't access their G Suite account and that their data is preserved. Blissfully's offboarding automations include Lockout, Forward Email, Backup, and Delete.

Lockout

When an employee or contractor is at the end of their tenure, whether long planned and mutual, or something more abrupt, it is best-practice to lock the account down as a matter of policy.

If you select the “Lockout” option, at the moment of offboarding, Blissfully will automatically reset the account password and revoke all G Suite authentication tokens that allow external applications access to the account data.

Email forwarding

Shutting down an account for security reasons does not have to interrupt live deals or business continuity! This option allows you to elect another individual in your organization to receive any future emails sent to the off-boarded individual’s account.

Behind the scenes, Blissfully does this by first renaming the original account from “terry@business.com” to “OFFBOARDED_terry@business.com”. Next, we create a Google Group using the original “terry@business.com” name, and add the individual elected to receive future emails to this group.

Doing it this way allows us to continue to manage the account through future offboarding operations (such as deleting it) without interrupting email forwarding. Secondarily, if ever the individual receiving the forwarded emails were to be offboarded, this method us allows us to daisy-chain all emails to the next in line to receive them, so that you’ll never have continuity gaps!

Backup

There are many possible considerations when backing up a G Suite account. We’ve focused our efforts on the most important & valuable: backing up the account’s email & documents.

The email backup includes messages in the mailbox, as well as the archive, and includes any recently deleted emails as well. The document backup includes all Google Drive documents for which the off-boarded individual was the sole owner.

Selecting this option will backup the users emails & documents into a new, private Shared Drive folder (eg, “Blissfully G Suite Backup - terry@business.com”). This requires choosing an individual to receive access to this private folder, and from there they can widen access or move the files elsewhere.

Delete

Once the account has been locked down and backed up, you’ll eventually want to free up the G Suite license and sunset the account permanently.

The Delete option, if enabled, allows you to specify a grace period of two weeks, one month, or three months, after which the account will be deleted and the license freed up. G Suite additionally provides an additional 20-day grace period beyond the deletion, during which time the account is recoverable if be.

Tracking Task Progress

Every automation option you select will create a new task as part of the final Offboarding Workflow. These tasks will be assigned to Blissfully include some information about the options you chose, and will ultimately be completed by Blissfully.

Setting up G Suite Automation

To set up your Blissfully G Suite connection, you’ll first need to enable our G Suite Automation integration. Doing so requires a G Suite administrator for your organization, so if you aren’t one, you may want to invite them to Blissfully.

You will also need to ensure that the G Suite admin that completed the original Blissfully installation has the ability to create Shared Drives under the G Suite Google Drive settings. the Setting for "Prevent users in [your domain] from creating new shared drives" should be OFF for the admin. If that setting is ON, you can change the G Suite admin's permissions by creating a Google Group with the needed permission settings and adding the admin as a member.

Instructions: Step 1: Go to the Integrations page in Blissfully.

Step 2: Click on the G Suite Automation Connect button.

Step 3: Go to admin.google.com

Step 4: Under Security, go to Advanced Settings > Manage API Client Access.

Step 5: Paste in your admin credentials in the in the Client Name field.

107583134982268733477

Step 6: In the One or more API scopes field, paste the following:

https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.user,https://www.googleapis.com/auth/devstorage.read_only,https://www.googleapis.com/auth/ediscovery,https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive,https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive.file,https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.group

Step 7: Submit the form.

Step 8: Click Authorize and return to this page. The status indicator below should show your account was connected successfully (this may take up to a minute or two).

Please note: At the bottom of the page, you’ll notice it’s constantly checking to see if the integration is complete. Once it is, you’ll notice a green success check-mark, and you’re ready to use the G Suite automation features.