Google Workspace Automation
Leveraging Blissfully's Google Workspace automation.

Benefits of Blissfully's Google Workspace Automation

Blissfully's Google Workspace automations can streamline your processes by making best practices easy & automatic during employee onboarding and offboarding. For offboarding, this includes locking an account down, forwarding future emails, backing up emails and documents, and ultimately deleting it to free up the G Suite license.
Blissfully's Google Workspace automation is available to all Blissfully customers, however, it requires that your organization is using Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, or Enterprise; it will not work if you're on the Business Starter tier (see screenshot below). If you’d like to understand the benefits of Google Workspace Business, or are already inclined to upgrade, we can help.

Onboarding automations

Blissfully has several automations that can be used during employee onboarding including account creation and Google Group assignment.

Account creation

When launching an onboarding workflow from Blissfully, you have the option to create the new employee's Google Workspace account from Blissfully. You'll need to enter the employee's First Name, Last Name, business email address, and personal email address to receive the account password. You also have the option to specify the Google Workspace Organizational Unit that the new account should be assigned to.
Blissfully's Google Workspace account creation executes as soon as the onboarding workflow is launched.

Google Group assignment

Blissfully can automatically assign an employee to Google Groups based on their team membership. Learn more about setting up Google Group tasks.

Offboarding automations

Blissfully's automations during offboarding can ensure that offboarded employees can't access their Google Workspace account and that their data is preserved. Blissfully's offboarding automations include Lockout, Forward Email, Transfer, Backup, and Suspend & Delete.

Lockout

When an employee or contractor is at the end of their tenure, whether long-planned and mutual or something more abrupt, it is best practice to lock the account down as a matter of policy.
If you select the “Lockout” option, at the moment of offboarding, Blissfully will automatically reset the account password and revoke all Google Workspace authentication tokens that allow external applications access to the account data.

Email forwarding

Shutting down an account for security reasons does not have to interrupt live deals or business continuity! This option allows you to select another individual in your organization to receive any future emails sent to the off-boarded individual’s account.
Behind the scenes, Blissfully does this by first renaming the original account from “[email protected]” to “[email protected]”. Next, we create a Google Group using the original “[email protected]” name, and add the individual elected to receive future emails to this group.
Doing it this way allows us to continue to manage the account through future offboarding operations (such as deleting it) without interrupting email forwarding. Secondarily, if ever the individual receiving the forwarded emails were to be offboarded, this method allows us to daisy-chain all emails to the next in line to receive them so that you’ll never have continuity gaps!

Transfer

Transfer options allow you to move the user to a selected Google Organizational Unit. Reassign shared calendars and files to a different user. The reassigned user will see the calendar listed under "My Calendars" with the name "Transferred from ..." + user email. (e.g., "Transferred from [email protected]") Once the file transfer is complete, the reassigned user will receive a folder with the offboarded user's email. The transfer automation requires an active Google Workspace account. If you're worried about the account being active, we suggest combining transfer steps with the Lockout automation option.

Backup

There are many possible considerations when backing up a Google Workspace account. We’ve focused our efforts on the most important & valuable: backing up the account’s email & documents.
The email backup includes messages in the mailbox, as well as the archive, and includes any recently deleted emails as well. The document backup includes all Google Drive documents for which the off-boarded individual was the sole owner.
Selecting this option will backup the user's emails & documents into a new, private Shared Drive folder (eg, “Blissfully Google Workspace Backup - [email protected]”). This requires choosing an individual to receive access to this private folder, and from there they can widen access or move the files elsewhere.

Suspend & Delete

Suspend option allows you to lock the account while maintaining email, documents, calendars, and other data. Shared documents are still accessible to collaborators. New email and calendar invitations are blocked, effective as of their offboarding time. Once the account has been locked down and backed up, you’ll eventually want to free up the Google Workspace license and sunset the account permanently.
The Delete option, if enabled, allows you to specify a grace period of two weeks, one month, or three months, after which the account will be deleted and the license freed up. Google Workspace additionally provides an additional 20-day grace period beyond the deletion, during which time the account is recoverable if be.

Tracking Task Progress

Every automation option you select will create a new task as part of the final Offboarding Workflow. These tasks will be assigned to Blissfully include some information about the options you chose, and will ultimately be completed by Blissfully.

Setting up Google Workspace Automation

To set up your Blissfully Google Workspace connection, you’ll first need to enable our Google Workspace Automation integration. Doing so requires a Google Workspace administrator for your organization, so if you aren’t one, you may want to invite them to Blissfully.
You will also need to ensure that the Google Workspace admin that completed the original Blissfully installation has the ability to create Shared Drives under the Google Workspace Google Drive settings. The setting for "Prevent users in [your domain] from creating new shared drives" should be OFF for the admin. If that setting is ON, you can change the Google Workspace admin's permissions by creating a Google Group with the needed permission settings and adding the admin as a member.
Integration setup will fail if the Google Workspace admin who installed Blissfully does not have the permission shown above. If you are attempting to integrate and the page in Blissfully appears to load forever, permissions are likely the cause.
Instructions:
Step 1: Go to admin.google.com
Step 2: Under Security, go to API Controls > Manage Domain Wide Delegation.
Step 3: Select Add new.
Step 4: Paste in your admin credentials in the Client Name field.
1
107583134982268733477
Copied!
Please note that changes to your scopes may take up to 24 hours to reflect in Blissfully. You will continue to be blocked from using certain automations until all scopes have properly resolved.
Step 5: In the OAuth scopes field, paste the following:
1
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.datatransfer,
2
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.datatransfer.readonly,
3
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.domain.readonly,
4
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.group,
5
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.group.readonly,
6
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.orgunit.readonly,
7
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.user,
8
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.user.readonly,
9
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/admin.directory.user.security,
10
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/calendar,
11
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/calendar.readonly,
12
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/devstorage.read_only,
13
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive,
14
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/drive.file,
15
https://www.googleapis.com/auth/ediscovery
Copied!
Step 6: Click Authorize and return to the integration page. The status indicator below should show your account was connected successfully (this may take up to a minute or two).
Please note: At the bottom of the page, you’ll notice it’s constantly checking to see if the integration is complete. Once it is, you’ll notice a green success check-mark, and you’re ready to use the Google Workspace automation features.
Last modified 4mo ago